Trudi Canavan

bestselling author of The Black Magician Trilogy

Conflux9 – The Ditmars

The Ditmars were announced on the Saturday night of Conflux9. They are like the Hugos in that they are voted upon by members of a conventions, our National Science Fiction Convention, and a couple of other awards are presented at the same time. I took along my zoom lens and managed to take a few good pics, though not all turned out. Here’s the best of them:

Deb Biancotti, the MC – and a fine job she did of keeping everyone in line and entertained.

Yes, there was Lego. They were creating a stand in for someone who couldn’t make it to the ceremony, I believe.


The audience, watching the proceedings with rapt attention.


And not a few nerves, I suspect.


Bill Wright had a throne. I’m not entirely sure why, but he did appear to enjoy it.


Dave Cake did the physical hard labour of delivering the awards to the winners. In this case, the Peter McNamara Award.


Which went to Nick Stathopoulos.


Bill Wright and Grant Stone presenting Russell B Farr with the A. Bertram Chandler Award.


Kirstyn McDermott receiving the Best Fan Publication in Any Medium (won jointly with Ian Mond).


Kathleen Jennings taking the Best Artwork category.


David McDonald snaffling the Best New Talent prize.


Thoraiya Dyer, who won the Best Short Story.


Kaaron Warren thrilled to receive the Best Novella or Novelette.


Nalo Hopkinson announcing the winner of the Best Novel…


… and Margo Lanagan accepting the award.

I didn’t catch everyone and not all the winners were there, so for the full results, go here.

Congratulations to the winners!

1 Responses »

  1. I heard about the throne on Galactic Suburbia. I was confused too…