Reading Order

The answer to the question: “Which order should I read your books in?” is… complicated. Firstly, to get the most out of my books you should probably read the ones within a series in the right order. Secondly, read the Black Magician Trilogy before its sequel, the Traitor Spy Trilogy. Otherwise you can read in whatever order you like!

Books set in the Kyralia world:

The Black Magician Trilogy
The Magicians’ Guild
The Novice
The High Lord

The Traitor Spy Trilogy
The Ambassador’s Mission
The Rogue
The Traitor Queen

The Magician’s Apprentice
This is a stand-alone prequel to the Black Magician Trilogy, set six hundred or so years earlier. You don’t have to read it first, you don’t have to read it between the trilogies, or after. It can be read at any point and not spoil the plot of books you read later.

Books set in other worlds:

The Age of the Five
Priestess of the White
Last of the Wilds
Voice of the Gods

Millennium’s Rule
Thief’s Magic
Angel of Storms
Successor’s Promise
Maker's Curse

You’ll find back cover blurbs and the first chapter of all these books under the Books menu above. But be warned: reading the blurbs and extracts of later books in a series can spoil the plots of earlier books, so if you haven’t read a series, just read the first book’s blurb and chapter.